Wallpaper Paintings


As long as I can remember I have absolutely loved different types of papers, textures, cards and books. When I was younger I would spend as much time as I was able to inside the store looking at and touching all of the greeting cards. While I was attending Art College one of my favorite places to be was in the college’s art supply/bookstore selecting out art supplies. They had sample books with paper samples in it; that was just something that I liked doing. Another favorite place for me is the hardware stores, I know funny…but the smell of wood just catches me in a nostalgic way and I could linger strolling through a hardware store forever. They also have samples of paint and wallpaper…oh my wallpaper is so rich. I don’t really like wallpapered walls, but wallpaper itself is fun to experiment and play with; when I say play I mean to collage with it or paint on it. I have a few rolls of different types of wallpaper that I have been collecting over the years and finally decided today that I would like to paint on pieces to see what effects I can get. Of course one of my favorite subjects to paint is the human face. I plan on painting many quick sketches on pieces of this beautiful textured wallpaper and then after it is dry my plan is to mount select ones onto these walnut framed panels that I have. I have a feeling this project might take some time but I think it is well worth it. The photo of the painting below is my first “Wallpaper Lady” which I did today.
I painted it in oils and my colors are Titanium White, Raw Umber, and a touch of Phthaloe Blue in some areas. The subject is from an old black and white (sepia colored) photograph by Julia Margaret Cameron from the 1800’s

Vintage Wall Flower

4 thoughts on “Wallpaper Paintings

  1. This so beautiful! I also love paper,! Love art supply and stationary shops…suppose, funny to say that, now that I’m doing so much on my iPad. However I print my iPad art, at home, on a lovely matt paper; and I do still do some work on paper and canvas…just not as much. πŸ™‚ You are so talented and skilful, Heather, in your art, and photography…and you write so well, too. πŸ™‚ Love your work. All the best, Janette

    Like

    • WOW Janette, you are good for my heart! πŸ™‚
      Thank you!
      I am certain that the way we create has to do with our experiences, it`s amazing to me how things can come full circle. I like working digitally too but haven`t done the iPad thing yet. Printing is a whole other thing that is sooo amazingly fun to experiment with, your work is beautiful so it must be such a blast to see it printed. ❀ hugs to you Janette.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Thanks, Heather, for your encouraging words! πŸ™‚ It is great to give my iPad art a physical home – have had it regularly printed in various ways, in the past two years. Just started doing some printing at home – if you get time, you may be interested to read a new page I put on blog, called “Printing iPad art” – an obvious title. πŸ™‚ There’s also a lot on there about the various aspects of digital printing in general.
        Hope you get to try, drawing or painting on an iPad; it gives such a rich sensory experience, which was a lovely surprise, when I first started experimenting with it. However, a good quality art app, makes all the difference, and for me, I think, using my finger, adds to the enjoyment. Well, this was just going to be a short note! – anyway, hope you have a lovely creative day.~ Janette…hugs to you, too!

        Like

        • πŸ™‚ thanks Janette I’m happy that you have this means of creating but for me there is so much on my plate that I couldn’t possibly pick that up too. Besides I am still on my learning curves with all this social media stuff and my own personal growth…& planning to go to France soon for a course so that is exciting for me.
          I’m looking forward to seeing more of your beautiful work. hugs for a happy day.

          Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

