Letting Go with Joy, Love & Peace.


It is said that an artist is their own worse critic…well I certainly have been. I know it is a good thing to take pride in my work and always push the boundaries in order to achieve the level of painting that I want to achieve; not comparing myself but to be better than I was yesterday. So with that in mind I have realized that while I am painting and pushing my boundaries, I am developing; but in the process I am also advancing which can be somewhat crippling at times because I then am dissatisfied with a painting not long after it is finished. I have an idea, an image in my head that I want to attain…therefore I often don’t appreciate the beauty of a piece that I just painted.

I have been going through my studio getting organized for new clients and new work. In the process I came across some older paintings that I did on watercolor paper. I have a new appreciation for them; absence makes the heart grow fonder. 🙂

It reminds me of when I go to my sister, Charlene`s, home. She has collected many pieces of my work: a handmade, lidded ceramic box with intricate carving and a soft moss green, sugary glaze, little leaf print dishes with tiny coiled feet, an ornately carved tile piece, and (among other works) paintings which I made so many years ago. When I see them I can`t help but gaze a little longer at them and wonder why did I not appreciate these before? I am thankful that she has kept them safe. It is like old friends that someone has taken care of for my return visit.

These flower paintings do have a charm of their own and I can see that they can be loved and appreciated by someone as much as I have come to love them. If my work brings joy to one person it will have been worth it.

I can imagine them all being framed and hung as a group on one large wall or even in some small, precious, sitting nook to be enjoyed while relaxing for the day. I can imagine that they will be quietly speaking peace to the home where they will live.

Well today I have decided that in order for this “river” to flow I will let these paintings fly away to rest in whichever home they are meant for.

I am letting go with love, joy and peace …sending these out to their new families. My hope is that once they have been framed and placed in their perfect nest, that the owner would take a photograph of themselves with the painting (or just the painting if you wish) and allow me to have a digital copy for my portfolio. It would be such a good memory for me.

Each one, no matter the size, is CAD $60.00 each (plus shipping).

Thank you for your kindness in liking and sharing this post around the world.
Hugs to all.
I am including larger, individual images with the size and description underneath each one….keep scrolling. 🙂

flowers

group

large flower watercolour
giant poppies

Ink and Watercolor on YUPO – 26 inches x 16.5 inches.

big pink poppy

Big Pink Poppy – Watercolor on Paper. 16 x 20 inches.

iris

Irises – Watercolor of paper. 11 x 15 inches.

Flowers

Red Poppies – Watercolor of paper. 11 x 15 inches

pink poppies

Pink Poppies Watercolor on Canson Painting Board 16 x 20 inches.
red poppy

Poppy – Watercolor on paper. 11 x 15 inches.

red_100826

Red Poppy- Watercolor on paper. 11 x 15

red and orange poppies

Orange and Red Poppies –  Watercolor on paper. 11 x 15 inches
tulips

Tulips –  Watercolor on Canson Paint Board. 16 x 20 inches

red poppies blowing

Poppies in the Breeze. –  Watercolor on paper. 11 x 15 inches

still life

Blue Vase. Acrylic on Windsor Newton 140 Lb paper. 22 x 30 inches.

wht fl
 

Love, Joy Peace- Watercolor on Windsor Newton 140 Lb- 7 x 10 inches.

9 thoughts on “Letting Go with Joy, Love & Peace.

  1. I think you were commenting on the light in the dunes on another thread and I was musing that watercolor is a marvelous medium for sketching fleeting light. And yet do I paint? only theater sets and houses. I do take advantage of sessions of drawing live nudes when I can. I am embarrassed by my skill level BUT nothing makes you look, really look, at the subject, to capture line, form, light etc. All the arts inform my work whether it’s performance, writing or photography.

    Aaaaand I’m done talking now. I promised someone I would attend a workshop on authentic restoration of bricks, mortar and plaster the next two days. That means I’ll be driving up to the lighthouse, staying in the keepers quarters and working/learning in the cold. You know, a good time.

    Like

    • Sorry dunelight, I don’t know how I missed these comments but it sure is lovely to read them. You have some wonderful experiences. When my back served me better I was a ceramic artist and one of my favorites was making handmade tiles in mosaics. I appreciate that so much more now that I am not able to do it. I have painted with watercolor but I feel that I have not got what it takes to focus on that, I suppose this is why I love oils so much, they are easier for me to paint with. I hope your workshop went well and wow how fun to go to a lighthouse, that sounds so amazing.
      As for painting or drawing from life, I agree it is the best way to develop good sight 🙂 I am still working on that. Thank you for sharing your very interesting thoughts, memories and comments, I love it.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

