A Record of Life Captured on Canvas.



Painting


…the experience
…the effort
…the time
…the growth
…the beauty
…the heart
…the love
all of these treasured elements and much more are the priceless attributes that form the finished piece of art.


I have been working on this 24″ x 24″ oil painting for several weeks, to be fair some of that time was inner work and not the actual applying paint to the canvas, some of the time was invested in recording and editing to create this video, some of the time (3 days) was spent creating and setting up the still life and of course time is also invested in developing this blog.


Someone asked me once “Why paint a still life?” The best explanation is this, when painting from a photograph the subject is no longer in a three dimensional space, the camera has done most of the work for you. When painting from life, one sharpens the creative skills needed in order to capture life onto a canvas, that is why I value painting from life. I love these challenges, in addition conquering the challenge of bringing life onto a two dimensional plain to be preserved forever, that is what I find so satisfying.


That is why my paintings are invaluable, they are an investment of my life, a part of me…what is that worth to me? It is priceless!

LINK: Painting and a Teacup


Click on the ‘Painting and a Teacup’ BLUE link.

Painting and a Teacup

20 thoughts on “A Record of Life Captured on Canvas.

  1. I just love this Heather! How you describe what painting is to you in the top of this post just shines right through in this painting. I really enjoy reading your posts and how you feel about your painting/creative process almost as much as I see your stunning work. I also enjoyed seeing the video. It was great to see how your paintings come to life. It is easy to see why you describe your work as invaluable… your heart and soul are certainly in each one. I am really enjoying following your blog. I think we have a lot in common and if we lived closer would probably enjoy getting together for a nice long chat! Thanks for sharing this lovely piece. ~Rita πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Oh Rita, you can be sure of that…a long chat and hugs. πŸ™‚ Thank you soooo much for taking time out of your precious day to write to me, I feel so very blessed to hear from you…it is so validating for me to hear what other people see when they go to my log or see my work, what a real gift you gave me today. I love following your blog too Rita, you are so on top of things it is amazing. πŸ™‚ I am getting back into photography too (have been away for a few years) and just refreshing my portfolio and visual PDF etc…oh and a website, tons of work ahead. Hugs to you.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Sorry I’m late for the reply on this…I get adhd befuddlement online with so many posts lol. But I have to say this is gorgeous painting. I admire people who can make beautiful art.

    Like

    • Hi Tammy, Thanks for the response, I get behind sometimes with posts too simply because they get buried if I don’t respond as soon as I see it. πŸ™‚ Thank you, I am the same with people who paint, or write, or play music or dance …all of it. Have a great day.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. beautiful rich sumptuous colours, I love the painting ! great post as well. I smiled and said, Good ON You!! when I read your statement that your paintings are invaluable and priceless – they are indeed! people often like to try to dicker artists down on their prices… its frustrating and sad. So it was lovely to see your thoughts on the worth of your art πŸ™‚

    Like

    • HI Deb,
      It was so nice to read your comment, thank you for sharing your thoughts of encouragement. I believe that it is necessary for one to evaluate what they are doing and what their time and energy is worth, that way if we can just get things in the proper perspective we can then move on to do what we were put here to do. I would just as easily barter for other things rather than money because I do not value money the way others do…it is a tool and so to what end is this tool for is the question I ask myself. I have often thought of how to place that kind of price on my work…hmmm I’ll take 1 gift card from my favorite health food store, one gift card from the clothing store and 1 gift card from the mechanic (as an example, although there still has to be a dollar value). However what if one were to approach me and say I have 6 yards of silk and 5 pounds of beans and I can clean your house twice a week for 1 month…wouldn’t that be a great way to exchange? …well those are my thoughts as of late. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

