Sparrows


2 birdsjpg

Click to view larger

2 Sparrows

16 x 20

Oil on panel

Available

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

I came from a family of nine children, I think it was common back then for couples to have larger families. I love my siblings very much yet I often found myself playing alone. I thoroughly enjoyed being by myself playing quietly; digging in the dirt was one of my favorite pastimes. Not just digging, I would be creating roads, whole communities where my imaginary citizens would live in perfect harmony, it was my creative outlet at the time, that is probably why that I chose Ceramics as my major at the Alberta College of Art and Design… I love dirt 😉

Growing up in a small village it was always rather quiet and so hearing the whisper in the breeze was ever present, in my heart I knew where the still small voice came from and it was ever-present, speaking to me. Another familiar sound that is so endearing to me are the sparrows songs. The sparrow has such  beautiful songs that hearing them makes me feel so at peace, so at home….it always brings a smile to my face. I know that sparrows are viewed as pests, but for me they bring comfort. Here is a link to some of the songs.  http://www.allaboutbirds.org/guide/Song_Sparrow/sounds

I recall dreaming and earnestly desiring to be a bird, I didn’t know what kind of bird, but I just wanted to fly, free in the air…they seem so carefree, so happy, so free…that is what I wanted.

It’s no wonder that I have chosen sparrows as my subject because the symbology (art of expression by symbols)  of sparrows is very telling and I feel it is no surprise as to the accuracy of this symbolism that has been attributed to them, this is how I see sparrows and because they are a small bird that seems to have no significance, I can relate. These symbols of the sparrow are very much the attributes of that still small voice in the breeze that I have been so familiar with for all those years.

SPARROW~

    • Joy
    • Inclusion
    • Creativity
    • Simplicity
    • Protection
    • Community
    • Productivity
    • Friendliness

Still Small Voice of the Pure Breath that I heard in the breeze.

    • Love
    • Joy
    • Peace
    • Long-suffering
    • Kindness
    • Goodness
    • Faith
    • Meekness
    • Self-control

The Native American symbol of a sparrow is: Sparrow: Symbol of desire and fertility; manifests new love in someone’s life; understands the aspects of race; ability to use the power of song; understands all aspects of color.

It wouldn’t be too far fetched to say that sparrows are a symbol of love, not just manifest love, not just fertility, but LOVE.

Love is understanding, love is truth, love is compassion, love is forgiveness, love is kindness, love is empathy and much more.I know that I am being taken care of, just like the sparrows who have no worries. I know that HE has been watching over me all my life and continues to do so. I know that I am clay, He is the Potter and HE is the One who has kept me all these years. I am so thankful.

Why should I feel discouraged
Why should the shadows come
Why should my heart feel lonely
And long for heaven and home

When Yasha is my portion
A constant friend is He
His eye is on the sparrow
And I know he watches over me
His eye is on the sparrow
And I know he watches me.

Civilla D. Martin

*Jesus or Joshua are English translations of the Hebrew name YASHA (Yahusha) here is the Hebrew number, meaning and name.

H3467
ישׁע
yâsha‛
yaw-shah’
A primitive root; properly to be open, wide or free, that is, (by implication) to be safe; causatively to free or succor: – X at all, avenging, defend, deliver (-er), help, preserve, rescue, be safe, bring (having) salvation, save (-iour), get victory.

 

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Lovely painting. Lovely post! Thank you. 🙂 God Bless.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Janetteart it is always nice to hear your comments and to visit your page as well. I’m glad you like this one. Bless you too.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks for becoming a subscriber. Happy blogging.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. HI Sally, you’re most welcome. It’s always great to meet new people and when we have something in common,it makes it all the better. Thanks for visiting here and happy blogging also.

      Like

Leave a Reply

