Rise Above


Rise Above

Click image to view larger

16 x 20

oil on panel

available

My younger sister always used to say “water off a duck’s back” whenever anyone was faced with adversity. She would motion with her hand as if stroking the back of a duck…that movement looked like an airplane diving and then at the last second taking off up into the air…and it is a good saying and a good motion because both of them imply rising above the strife, rising above the toils, the troubles and pain of this life.

This painting ‘Rise Above’ is a little sparrow that has flown up high into the air and turns to look down at the place where s/he once was, to see that s/he is not trapped by the snares of this life, s/he sees that s/he has power, power to choose.

I am choosing to paint sparrows right now because they are considered to be a pest and are not given much significance. I have often felt that I was considered to be a pest, not very significant…a sad truth, but I repudiate that image that was placed on me.

I Rise Above the labels, the voices of the past, and even some voices of the present that do not agree with what I stand for. I Rise Above because I choose to live a life that is real, a life that is filled with truth and love and understanding. I choose to live a life that is aimed to do good, to help others, to love others freely in the best way that I know how. I Rise Above because I have decided to be the change that I want to see in this world…to love mercy, to do justly and to walk humbly with the Creator.

When one can Rise Above and overcome, then one can truly listen enabling others to be heard, to be free, to Rise Above.

But even the hairs of your head are all numbered! Do not be afraid; you are worth more than many sparrows. Luke 12:7

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Fabulous

    Like

    1. 🙂 glad you like this Sand Salt Moon. I have been enjoying your site as well.

      Like

Leave a Reply

