Premier Coup + First Strike


These two Irises are among some of my favorite paintings because they were done in “premiere coup” style…that means first strike or first blow.

The process for me is I intentionally decide the color, the direction of the brush stroke and the pressure of the brush stroke all before ever touching the brush to the surface that I am painting on.

As I make each brush stroke I leave it exactly as it was when laid down on the canvas or board without retouching or reworking it. This means that the process of each stroke is done in my mind first, it is a contemplative practice that can be very freeing and in many ways healing.

This direct painting method that has no underpainting layers and no drawing, it is simple, intuitive and fresh… from me through the brush to the surface. .

I think it is similar to Chinese painting in some sense because of the immediacy of it.

You will be able to see the brushstrokes in the close up photos below.

Thank you for visiting my page, I hope you enjoy it.

Iris

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Iris_2781

 

petal_2779

 

buds_2781

 

bud_2779

 

red paint_2779

 

petal_2781

4 Comments Add yours

  1. I am no artist or real critic in the truest sense of the word, but I really appreciate the texture and vibrant contrasting colors in these paintings. I also enjoy how you educate on the method in such a simple and openly genuine manner.

    It truly is freeing to create without pressure.

    Warm regards,
    Nick

    Like

    1. Hi Nick, Thank you so much for taking precious time to comment and encourage on my blog. Yes, I do love to paint (and create in other ways also) I feel that it is my way of expressing what I see and what I am drawn to. I am so glad that you feel that there was value in what I had to say here. All it takes (in my opinion) to appreciate art is a beating heart and eyes that see. It is amazing how a kind word shared honestly can be so uplifting. That is what you have done here, thank you again.
      All the best blessings to you and yours. 🙂

      Like

  2. tmezpoetry says:

    The first one here is my favorite! One day I just might write a poem while looking at it 🙂 It is an enticing image to create from.

    Like

    1. Thank you Tammy, it’s lovely to find inspiration, I’m glad you found it here… I hope it serves you well. 🙂 You can share it when the time comes if you like.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

