Stay With It


Even though there are days when everything seems to be going wrong, even the most simple of tasks are a challenge, I can say with confidence stay with it.

We hear it all the time, but it isn’t something that seems real unless you push through it yourself. Trials come our way and we tend to give up, but that is the most important time to stay  the course, don’t give up!

When I worked for a sales company, one of the leading instructors would say to me…”You don’t have to reinvent the wheel.” In other words he was saying that it is a good thing to learn from others’ mistakes and successes. Well yes, that is easy to say but until we actually do take good advice and apply it to our situation, we may continue to reinvent the wheel.

I have been constantly setting the standard for my work higher and higher by constantly learning and applying the skills that I could. When I would apply those skills I was happy with the results, until the next day, because I am constantly pushing to grow and hone my skills. This can be depressing and sometimes it is…but because I have this intense desire to do the work it pushes me to do more.

Today was one of those days, I study other works, I apply techniques and it just doesn’t seem to cut it…well I kept at it and finally I thought of trying something different, it took 3 or 4 tries until I decided to start this painting from the other direction, dark to light; however when I saw what was emerging I liked it so much that I left it at that. I think this image is one that I can do over and over to continue to learn from so expect to see more of this one.

step 1 _0974step 2_0975step 3_0976fin_0978    step 4_0977

This Van Gogh quote is encouraging to me because I know Who is the source of LOVE and I find it to be very true.

 

Love many things, for therein lies the true strength, and whosoever loves much performs much, and can accomplish much, and what is done in love is done well.

 

Leave a Reply

